How to pray the rosary ?

Saint Louis-Marie Grignion de Montfort

Prayer and biblical meditation, the rosary is a pedagogy for discovering how much God loves humanity. It is based on five dozen Hail Marys and on various mysteries.

Reciting a chaplet consists in meditating 5 of the 20 mysteries of the rosary.

- Mondays and Saturdays: the Joyful mysteries

- Tuesdays and Fridays: the Sorrowful mysteries

- Wednesdays and Sundays: the Glorious mysteries

- Thursdays: the Luminous mysteries

During the meditation of each mystery it is said: 1 Our Father, Hail Mary, the glory to the Father and the prayer of Fatima.

Each mystery corresponds to a phase in the life of our Lord and Lady. Meditation consists in thinking about these mysteries, visualizing them and considering the graces and merits that are expressed in them, and taking inspiration from them to love and know God better.

It is also common to focus on one virtue for each mystery, the virtues indicated in these documents are those recommended by St. Louis Marie Grignon de Monfort.

Guide for prayer:

We begin each rosary with the sign of the cross and the creed.

Then we pray the Our Father and 3 Hail Marys, the first for the increase of Faith, the second for the increase of Hope and the third for the increase of Charity.

And then we begin with the 5 mysteries of the Rosary, saying for each mystery 1 Our Father, 10 Hail Marys, Glory to the Father and the Prayer of Fatima.


"To animate you even more to this devotion of great souls, I add that the Rosary is recited with meditation of the mysteries: 1 lifts us up imperceptibly to the perfect knowledge of Jesus Christ; 2 purifies our souls from sin; 3 makes us victorious over all our enemies; 4 makes it easy for us to practice the virtues; 5 enflames us with the love of Jesus Christ; 6 enriches us with graces and merits; 7 provides us with the means to pay all our debts to God and men, and finally, makes us obtain all kinds of graces from God. "

Saint Louis Marie Grignon de Monfort